On Fire for All Things Christ

Overwhelm Me

Many praise & worship songs speak to us in so many levels, The More I seek You by Gateway Worship is no exception. I remember the first time this song stirred my heart. It was a Sunday morning just as I was getting ready for the day. I turned on the radio to Enter His Gates, and it wasn’t long before I found myself kneeling by my bed, hands raised and weeping. How much I’m overwhelmed by Him! How much I long to seek more of Him! How much I want to show Him my love! How much He did for me!

This past weekend, this same song came to my mind when I heard a sermon on the scriptures referencing how John (the disciple God loved) leaned back onto Jesus’ bosom during the passover meal. The disciples where in discussion with Jesus about the identity of His betrayer, and the lean was like a sign of reassurance to Jesus, a way of showing Jesus… I love you, I am not the betrayer. (John 13: 21-25). In this same way, the song illustrates laying back on Jesus as a way of showing him our love, trust and reassurance.

Also, I must mention the reference to the cup in the song and in the passages of scripture.
Mark 14:12-26
Luke 22:7-23

So beautiful these revelations are when we seek to know Him more!
Beautiful are the lyrics that reference our love between us and God.

The More I Seek You by Gateway Worship

LYRICS:
The more I seek You,
The more I find You.
The more I find You,
The more I love You

I wanna sit at Your feet
Drink from the cup in Your hand.
Lay back against You and breath,
Hear Your heart beat
This love is so deep,
It’s more than I can stand.
I melt in your peace, it’s overwhelming

Oh, Your love is overwhelming me
And all my love
Your love is overwhelming me

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

