On Fire for All Things Christ

Jesus Saves

Matthew 1:21
“She will bear a Son; and you shall call His name Jesus*, for He will save His people from their sins.”

*Jesus is the Greek form of Joshua, which means the LORD saves.

JESUS SAVES. I have had this bold statement on the back windshield of my car for a few months now. I love it because when I drive around the city, it’s like spreading a word of hope to all who see it and read it. It is a moving advertisement that glorifies the grace and power of our loving God. (Not to mention it gives me more accountability to be Christ-like in my driving.)

Maybe seeing this statement in passing reminds someone to pray for a friend. Maybe it brings conviction to mind. Maybe it sparks a conversation about gods. Maybe it makes someone think, does God really exist or do I believe in God? Maybe it raises the question, what does “Jesus saves” really mean to me?

I haven’t been approached much about it, but just recently I had been wondering if our world really knows what this phrase actually means. I wondered… have I not been approached because others are embarrassed to ask what it means, or because they think they will be ridiculed for not knowing? Maybe others think I will bombard them with condemning words.

So, what does “Jesus saves” really mean? First of all, who is Jesus? What is being saved? Why should someone care about Jesus or that He saves? Why is saving necessary? How does saving happen? What is the role of Jesus in saving?

I’d love to hear your insights!!

Comments on: "Jesus Saves" (8)

  1. Here is a trustworthy saying that deserves full acceptance: Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners—of whom I am the worst. -1 Tim 1:15

    Surely God is my salvation; I will Trust and not be afraid. The Lord, is my strength and my song; he has become my salvation. – Isaiah 12:2

  2. Update: ironically, I posted this blog before I started my homework assignment for my ministry class. What was ironic is that this same concept of what does a particular verse of scripture actually mean for one’s life was being addressed in my reading. The reading was about learning to the point of self discovery of scripture beyond a rote and recognition level. I grinned with laughter as I continued my assigned reading and thought about my blog post. I may have mainly written the post for myself, to spark my own thinking about how to explain “Jesus saves”, but I said to God, “Lord, the Holy Spirit surely led me to write this one!”

  3. About a year ago or so I remember reading a message that was also on someone’s back windshield and it was this: I AM PAID FOR. Or course at first I thought about the car being paid for and thinking why would someone write that on their car, they must be glad to have paid that off for sure! And then I realized they weren’t referring to the car, but themselves. That was a cool realization.

    • Oh, that’s funny! I think my first thought would have been the same as yours. I like the “aha” realization!! Maybe I should write that one next!

  4. I tend to think of being saved in terms of being free from the temptation of the flesh so I can live the life I have been called to live without sinful endulgence. I know I lot of people look at it in terms of eternal life. But I often find myself coming back to Luke 1:77

    You will tell his people how to find salvation
    through forgiveness of their sins.

    I think Jesus is the key to both abundant life and eternal life. He forgave us, and in doing so he showed us how to forgive. Only in that humility, when we forgive, can we stop living in the flesh.

    Thanks for making me think about this again, something I should try and keep fresh in my mind.

  5. Don’t you LOVE the thought that someone out there that we don’t even know and may never meet may see your windshield and wonder what that means? How wonderful!!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

