On Fire for All Things Christ

Only Grace

I went to visit a friend’s church in Merced, California a few Sundays ago, and the worship team played this song, Only Grace, by Matthew West. I’ve heard this song many times on Christian radio, but there was something different about it when I saw the words up on screen at the service, especially the first few verses. Immediately, the first thing that came to my mind was an old friend that I hope knows I’ve forgiven him. Despite what happened in the past, I want him to know not to feel guilt, not to feel shame, I’m not pointing fingers or playing blame, I only want to be an extension of grace.

There is no guilt here
There is no shame
No pointing fingers
There is no blame
What happened yesterday…has disappeared
The dirt has washed away
And now it’s clear

There’s only grace
There’s only love
There’s only mercy and believe me it’s enough
Your sins are gone
Without a trace
And there’s nothing left now
There’s only grace

You’re starting over now
Under the sun
You’re stepping forward now
A new life has begun
Your new life has begun

An’ there’s only grace
There’s only love
There’s only mercy and believe me…it’s enough
Your sins are gone
Without a trace
And there’s nothing left now
There’s only grace…

And if you should fall again
Get back up, get back up
Reach out and take my hand
Get back up, get back up
Get back up again
Ohh…get…back…up…again…

There’s only grace…
There’s only love…
There’s only mercy and believe me it’s enough…it’s enough
Your sins are gone
Without a trace
And there’s nothing left now
There’s only…there’s only…grace…

There’s only mercy and believe me it’s enough…it’s enough
Your sins are gone
Without a trace
And there’s nothing left now
There’s only…grace……
So get back up…get back up again…
Get back up again.

Comments on: "Only Grace" (3)

  1. I’ve realized that I am a very visual learner, so, aside from hearing the lyrics to songs, many times it strikes me two-fold when I see as well as hear lyrics. Visuals help me in learning and remembering ideas. In fact, I have often remembered scripture in reference to where I saw it in my Bible or on a sheet of paper.

  2. I’ve also realized that my forgiveness to my friend hasn’t been complete. I don’t think I have actually fully forgiven my friend. If I had, I wouldn’t toggle between forgiveness and frustration every few days or weeks.

    Why have I not truly fully forgiven my friend Lord? How can I truly forgive without ever looking back at the hurt, the pain, the disappointment, the anger or the frustration? How does one cross the line to knowing full forgiveness? Is there something that needs to happen first?

    I’ve repented many times about all my feelings and wrong actions. Hmm, maybe that’s a clue, I’ve repented many times as if not believing that repenting once was enough. Maybe I’ve repented several times in hopes that the Lord would lift my burdens, but it’s as if the burden is lifted only in the strength of a person, who then gets tired of carrying the load, so it is then set back onto my shoulders. Lord, how do I truly lift the burden onto You?

    Does anyone have any insight for me?

    • A friend sent me this…

      My grace is sufficient for you, for My power is made perfect in weakness”
      2 Corinthians 12:9 NIV

      TODAY’S WORD from Joel and Victoria
      Many people today wonder if they deserve God’s favor, but do you know what grace is? It’s unmerited favor. It’s kindness from Him that we don’t deserve. Isn’t it wonderful to know we don’t have to earn God’s grace; we simply receive it as a gift? No matter what has happened in your past, you can receive God’s grace and forgiveness and start fresh today. His grace is enough. It’s all you need. The Scripture says we are saved by grace through faith in Jesus Christ.

      Today, let grace empower and strengthen you to live the life of victory simply by receiving it and extending it to others. Instead of holding mistakes over other people’s heads, why don’t you hold out favor and forgiveness? As you allow God’s grace to flow through you, His power will increase in you. You’ll see His favor in greater ways as you rise up higher in the life of victory He has prepared for you!

      A PRAYER FOR TODAY
      Heavenly Father, thank You for Your goodness and grace today. I receive Your strength and favor in my life. Help me to extend that grace to others so I can live as an example of Your love in everything I do. In Jesus’ Name. Amen.

      — Joel & Victoria Osteen

      source

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

