On Fire for All Things Christ

Mighty to Save

There is this song we sing at church frequently that has a verse that goes like this…

Saviour, He can move the mountains,
My God is Mighty to save,
He is Mighty to save.

Also, the other day on KHBC, Keeping Him Close By, I heard a different, more traditional song that used those same words, “He is mighty to save.” And, Addison Road’s “What Do I Know of Holy” also mentions them.

Well, to be honest, I’ve never been sure what “He is mighty to save” really means. Is it simply that Jesus is important enough for us to talk about and bring forth into the minds and hearts of others? Does it meant that we are to hold onto the meaning of His existence in our lives and hearts? To proclaim Him sort of speak? This is how I interpret that line, but I’m not sure if this is correct. Does anyone have further insight on this for me? I’d love to hear  your interpretations. : )

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

