On Fire for All Things Christ

More of Christ, Less of Me

I am truly thankful. I’ve been hearing some really great sermons on God’s Word lately, and it has been such a blessing in my life!! Among them was one from First Baptist last week. I actually didn’t get to attend this service, but a friend mentioned part of it to me, the part about praying for God to increase and for me to decrease every time I walk through a door. I know that the Holy Spirit had control of me with this because that little prayer has been on my mind all week since she mentioned it. With that, I went ahead and listened to the sermon online.

More of Christ, Less of Me. That was the focus. John the Baptist states in John 3:30, “He [Jesus] must become greater; I must become less.” What a great truth! So, how does Jesus increase and we decrease? Well, at the end of the message, the pastor gave this as part of the takeaway…

Pray specifically for it. Lord, I ask that You would increase and that I would decrease. Make it a goal to remember this prayer every time you walk through a doorway. At the doorway of your house… Lord, I ask that You would increase and that I would decrease. This will handle your parenting, your marriage, or your singlehood. When you walk into the office, at the door pray… Lord, I ask that You would increase and that I would decrease. This will allow God to have your business tighter in His hands and looser in your hands. When you walk through the doorway into church pray… Lord, I ask that You would increase and that I would decrease. Worship will get stronger. When you walk through the doorway of a shopping mall… Lord, I ask that You would increase and that I would decrease. This may save you some money. Simply allow that door frame to be a reminder of that prayer. Lord, I ask that You would increase and that I would decrease.

This is just one takeaway that Pastor Gregg Matte gave in accordance with the text, but the other parts of the sermon had some powerful insights too, such as the stages of parenting and stepping aside to let God’s glory pass. If you like what I mentioned above, I recommend listening to the full sermon. I pray you may be blessed from the hearing of God’s Word and the application of it to change your life to live more for Christ.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

