On Fire for All Things Christ

Flip Me Around

I’d like to think that I’m not big on songs that hit the top countdown charts one week and out the next, but sometimes the Lord politely shows us our hypocrisy and He uses those very things we don’t like as a way to speak to us. I say this because I’m not a huge fan of the song “Hold Me” by Jamie Grace, but once I got past the catchy, teeny-bop melody and listened to the lyrics, I found that the words spoke to my heart. Enough so that the Lord reminded me when I heard the song again, then leading me to write about it and post the lyrics.

The lyrics caught my attention because I was having a tough week and I found the words very relate-able. The song speaks of things like being brought down by this crazy world and wanting to relax. Having problems at my job and all I want to do is think of God when I’m suppose to be working. I can’t imagine loving Him less, with Him, He can truly flip my day around.

The song has a light-hearted spirit and I thank God that He used it to flip my week around.

VERSE 1:
I’ve had a long day I just wanna relax
Don’t have time for my friends, no time to chit-chat
Problems at my job, wonderin’ what to do
I know I should be working but I’m thinking of You and
Just when I feel this crazy world is gonna bring me down
That’s when Your smile comes around

CHORUS:
Oh, I love the way You hold me, by my side You’ll always be
You take each and every day, make it special in some way
I love the way you hold me, in Your arms I’ll always be
You take each and every day, make it special in some way
I love You more than the words in my brain can express
I can’t imagine even loving You less
Lord, I love the way You hold me
Whoa oh oh oh oh oh oh, oh whoa, I love the way You hold me

VERSE 2:
Well You took my day and You flipped it around
Calmed the tidal wave and put my feet on the ground
Forever in my heart, always on my mind
It’s crazy how I think about You all of the time
And just when I think I’m ’bout to figure You out (figure You out)
You make me wanna sing and shout

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

