On Fire for All Things Christ

Looking at the Heart

When Samuel went out to anoint the man the Lord chose as Israel’s second King, the Lord said to Samuel

… man looks at outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart. (NIV) or
… for God sees not as man sees, for man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart. (NAS)
1 Samuel 16

I feel like this verse came to life for me yesterday. Awesome!!

I was thinking about a friend that “likes” me and I asked myself, why I didn’t “like” him back the way he liked me? I thought, Lord, is there something wrong with me? This is a good guy. He serves the Lord, attends church, enjoys fellowship, always tries to do what is right. He’s a good looking guy. I asked the Lord, is my heart hard towards him? Why am I not willing to accept the opportunity? Wow, that can be a loaded question. That can go back to insecurities, rejection, past hurts, etc. But the Lord brought me revelation on this matter. I love it when God brings unexpected revelations! Or, maybe I thought it was unexpected, but God brought it at just the right time.

I realized that the reason I didn’t want to jump into “liking” this person was because I wasn’t attracted to his heart. It’s not that this person had a bad heart, it’s that the Lord revealed that this person didn’t have the kind of heart that I needed. God was saying, this is not the one I have chosen for you. Wow, pretty cool revelation!

I don’t think it’s ever dawned on me to look at someone’s heart when considering dating. This made me regress to think about past relationships. I remembered an old boyfriend that really had a heart that drew me in. His heart attracted me and we had a really close relationship with each other and with God. We were good friends for a while and then tried dating, but I couldn’t get past my worldly judgments on outward appearance and I ended the relationship.

Lord, I have prayed to you, asking that I may see how you see. Thank you Lord, for You have been faithful in answering my prayer. I thank you for letting me see into the hearts of others. I thank you for letting me know when to draw close and when not to. Lord, I leave it to You to join me with the right man that has the right heart for You, for me and for others. In Jesus’ loving Name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

