On Fire for All Things Christ

A New Name I Give Myself

Genesis 17:

…“No longer shall your name be called Abram, But your name shall be Abraham;
… Then God said to Abraham, “As for Sarai your wife, you shall not call her name Sarai, but Sarah shall be her name.

When God began His new covenant with man, Abraham and Sarah were given new names from God. Abram to Abraham and Sarai to Sarah. With the addition of the letter h, both names were redefined to give life to God’s greater purpose through them. The addition of the letter h came from God’s name YHWH, or with vowels, pronounced: YaWeH.

God placed part of himself in Abraham and Sarah through their names.

I know this may be silly, but I decided to do the same for my name. No longer will I be called Edmee, but I will be called Edmeh, with the addition of an h, like my Bible counterparts. With that, I decided to do some research and see if the name “Edmeh” has a meaning. To my wonderful surprise, I found something!!

eDMeH l’Elyon, (DMH) means: resembles God, image of God. (source)

Wow! My new name means resembles God, image of God! Very cool!  Of course, my given name, Edmee, also has a neat meaning: wealthy or prosperous protector.

Comments on: "A New Name I Give Myself" (4)

  1. Hey Edmeh, as an added bonus, the pronunciation of your new name is more accurate!

  2. What a beautiful change! From prosperous (financial gain) to image of God / YHWH (like life). That’s an improvement if I’ve ever seen one!

    • Thanks JC! I did like to think that my given name, Edmee, (meaning wealthy protector) was reference to protecting the richness of the scriptures.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

