On Fire for All Things Christ

Appreciating God

In Bible study class last week, our teacher gave us an assignment. The assignment was to consider how we would show honor or appreciation to the Lord for all the things He has done. Later that day, I prayed to the Lord that He would reveal to us how we could honor Him. It seemed like a silly prayer really. I mean, should I really be asking God how I can show Him my appreciation? Am I so needy that I can’t think of my own idea?

So, throughout the week, I thought about it… what am I going to make to show God’s appreciation? Maybe a painting, maybe some writing or a cool design-y type poster? I wanted to do something, but I didn’t know what.

Then, late in the week, I finally got it! In trying to figure out how to show appreciation to Him, the Lord revealed to me that I had already been showing Him appreciation. This is what He revealed: through your acts of love to others is how you best show Me [God] appreciation. You appreciate Me by loving others. John 13:34-35 Wow! That was very cool to hear.

Reflecting back on just the past few days, I remembered some of the little things I had done for others that gave glimpses of His love . A journal for a new believer, a gift for my co-worker, greeting cards, encouraging a friend in Bible study, helping a lost shopper, accompanying a friend on a hospital visit. None of these were planned by me, but they were indeed divinely orchestrated by God.

Glory be to God through every small act of kindness and love we show to others. In that, His face lights up in appreciation.

I shared this story with my Bible study class this Sunday and the teacher loved my response very much and she too had received the same revelation during the week. Amen! May glory and honor always be His.

Comments on: "Appreciating God" (1)

  1. I just got this from a friend and it made me think of appreciating God…

    Jim’s Daily Awakenings for December 10, 2011 – Love Others

    The surest way to find God, if you are seeking the Eternal One, is to go out and love others: to get to know them, to embrace them, to accept them, to care for them, to be patient with them, and to serve them. Remember: everyone you meet is created in God’s image, and therefore when you love them you love the image of God.

    Why don’t you at least try it? Look for God in the people you meet today.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

