On Fire for All Things Christ

I heard a very powerful sermon from Tony Evans last week covering Matthew 16:24-28. With that, I felt lead to creatively illustrate Jesus’ words: “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.

In a modern, minimalistic style, this poster illustrates the scripture above. On the left, the red “no symbol” across the female icon represents me saying deny myself, the red cross in the middle represents taking up my cross and then the bird on the right represents following Jesus. I like that the cross is in the middle because it is the connecting factor between the other two commands that we should do (deny oneself and follow Jesus). In order to follow Jesus, we must cross from one side to the other. No doubt, that’s exactly how God planned it from the beginning.

Comments on: "Coming Across: Matthew 16 Poster" (2)

  1. Hi Edmee! I am curious what the bird represents to you in this. 🙂

    • Since the poster is a modern interpretation, most in today’s society that participate in social networks would recognize the bird as a twitter bird with the “follow me” idea.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

