On Fire for All Things Christ

Someone once asked me, “What do you do on your free time?”

“I like to do is read,” I said.

“What do you read?”

“Right now, I’m reading the Bible.”

And to no surprise my questionnaire replied, “Wow, that’s a big book. Are you reading the whole thing? How long is it taking you?”

Most Christians have their own way of reading the Bible. Some like the short one-year plan. Others do a two-year plan. Then there is the five-year plan. Others read Proverbs and Psalms every month. Many have no plan at all and only read Scripture as they follow along on the screen at church. However you may choose to approach God’s Word, the Lord will bless it. A seed will always be planted.

When I initially started reading the Bible, I didn’t have a set way of how I was going to approach it. I figured I would just start and see what happens. And now, as it just so happens, I find myself in a four-year reading plan that encompasses the full Bible canon.

How I started:
Just three short years ago, with great enthusiasm, I started reading my first and very own personal Bible. I was so excited. (I had purposely decided to buy a non-fancy Bible because I wanted to carry it everywhere without worry that I would dirty it up.) Some days I sat quietly at my desk at the office in the evenings and I would read intently. I read every part — the timelines, the scriptures, the commentary, I studied the maps and the notes at the back. Any insight my Bible provided, I read and enjoyed. I even had a concordance to reference at the back. (Don’t worry if you don’t know what a concordance is. I had no idea about it until well into my second year of reading.)

The reading plan:
With that, here is the plan, that was actually no plan at all but then developed into one. (Ironic how God has a way of doing things like that – showing us the bigger picture only as we continually walk by faith day to day.) So, here is the plan if you would like to follow it for your own reading. It’s generous in time, but like I mentioned earlier, along with the scripture, I also read supporting text to help give me a broader frame of reference and understanding. As the years progress, the reading gets more intense, but if you count out the pages, it’s really just a few pages a day.

Take the approach of my witty professor… inch-by-inch, it’s a sinch; yard-by-yard, it’s going to be hard.

  • Year one: the Gospels: John, Luke, Matthew & Mark
  • Year two: the remaining New Testament Books: Acts – Revelation
  • Year three: Old Testament: Genesis – Esther
  • Year four: Old Testament: Job – Malachi

If you’d like to give me insight on the Bible reading plan you like, please leave me a comment. I would love to hear how the Lord guides others through His Word. If you are having a hard time getting into reading the Bible, pray that the Lord may birth you with the desire to read, and He will. He desires that for everyone! You can also start with an audio Bible version. Be blessed by the reading of His Word beloved!!

Just in case you are curious, this is the Bible I am using for the reading plan. It is the New Living Translation, Life Application Study Bible.

Comments on: "My Four-year Bible Reading Plan" (7)

  1. Wow, it looks like you are really going indepth. Your third and fourth years are really going to cover a lot of material compared to your first and second.

    I’ve done the Bible in a year more times than i can count,but this year I’ve started working on a bucket list goal of making my own personal copy of the Scriptures. I’m only as far as Numbers at this point, with Matthew done as well, but the plan is 4 years as well.

    Have fun with yours!

    • Yes, years three and four are quite a bit more intensive compared to years one and two.
      That’s awesome what you are doing with the Scriptures as you read!! Praise the Lord and I pray He continues to reveal many new things to you each day!

      I have considered doing short synopsis on each book of the Bible to help me reflect and remember some of the main messages, but so far I have only done that for Job. In my Bible ToC, I wrote out a short, one sentence description of each book to help me remember what they were about.

      Let us give glory to God as we continue to delight ourselves in His wonderful masterpiece!!

      Thanks for your comment!

  2. I definitely recommend that you write out initial thoughts about the book, then at the end write out your conclusion. It’s really fun to see the changes in your thinking going from pre to post. You really begin to see your growth.

  3. I commend you for your work Edmee. I as well don’t have a plan but I think I should have one. I will make it a goal to read the whole scriptures from beginning to end, Genesis through Apocalypse but make notes through the way. I have been highlighting certain versus that I would like to use later for further understanding of how I should follow my faith. God Bless you Edmee and keep up the good work for your blessings and rewards will be great! 🙂

  4. I made a 4 year bible plan too. One chapter a day on weekdays, and Sunday’s off. There is a PDF to share. I realized that I did not finish organizing the layout of the first year (2009) after posting it, but I like the balance of the plan. http://ezraengle.posterous.com/4-year-bible-plan

    • That’s great that you made your own Bible reading plan and that you’ve been working through it. Yes, spreading out the text and having some breathing room is good. It’s great to read Scripture solely because we have a hunger for it, and not just as something to check off our list. May He bring you much wisdom and understanding as you seek to know Him more through His Word! May peace be in your heart!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

