On Fire for All Things Christ

They All On Me

Cutthroat street poster

I have written a post addressing Cutthroat street posters before, but this time, I want to address this one particular poster that after six months, still remains posted up on an electric box on the corner of Fannin and Wentworth in Houston. I pass by this poster on my way to work everyday, but as I looked at the familiar image again today, a new message came to my mind when I read:

“They all on me”

I stared at the downcast face of the Christ wearing the crown of thorns as I thought about the meaning of those words. Sin, that is what’s “all on [Him].” My past sin, my present sin, my future sin, your past sin, your present sin, your future sin – they were all on Him. He bore all sin as He hung, suffered and bled on the cross. He became sin, satisfying its penalty so that we could become the righteousness of God through Christ.

1 Peter 2:24
He himself bore our sins in his body on the tree, so that we might die to sins and live for righteousness; by his wounds you have been healed.

2 Corinthians 5:21
God made him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.

Isaiah 53:5
But he was pierced for our transgressions, he was crushed for our iniquities; the punishment that brought us peace was upon him, and by his wounds we are healed.

Hebrews 10:10
And by that will, we have been made holy through the sacrifice of the body of Jesus Christ once for all.

Comments on: "They All On Me" (1)

  1. Romans 4:1-5 : What then shall we say that Abraham, our forefather according to the flesh, has found? 2 For if Abraham was justified by works, he has something to boast about; but not before God. 3 For what does the Scripture say? “And Abraham believed God, and it was reckoned to him as righteousness.” 4 Now to the one who works, his wage is not reckoned as a favor, but as what is due. 5 But to the one who does not work, but believes in Him who justifies the ungodly, his faith is reckoned as righteousness.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

